07
Aug
08

Homecoming


    VIENNA TENG

歌手

listen to the mp3

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Homecoming (Walter’s Song)

It’s desert ice outside but this diner has thawed my ears 
Hot coffee in a clean white mug and a smile when the waitress hears 
That I was born in North Carolina 
Not an hour from her home town 
And we used to play the same pizza parlor pinball 

And there’s a glance in time suspended as I wonder how it is 
We’ve been swept up just by circumstance to where the coyote lives 
Where my days are strips of highway 
And she’s wiping tables down 
Holding on and still waiting for that windfall 

But I’ve come home 
Even though I’ve never had so far to go 
I’ve come home 

I pay the check and leave the change from a crumpled ten-dollar bill 
Head across the street where VACANCY is burning in neon still 
Well the night eats up my body heat 
And there’s no sign of another 
And I find myself slipping down into that black 

But things are good I’ve got a lot of followers of my faith 
I’ve got a whole congregation living in my head these days 
And I’m preaching from the pulpit 
To cries of „Amen brother“ 
Closing my eyes to feel the warmth come back 

And I’ve come home 
Even though I swear I’ve never been so alone 
I’ve come home 

I just want to be living as I’m dying 
Just like everybody here 
Just want to know my little flicker of time is worthwhile 
And I don’t know where I’m driving to 
But I know I’m getting old 
And there’s a blessing in every moment every mile 

Thin white terry bars of soap and a couple little plastic cups 
Old Gideons Bible in the nightstand drawer saying „Go on open up“ 
Well I’ll kneel down on the carpet here 
Though I never was sure of God 
Think tonight I’ll give Him the benefit of the doubt 

I switch off the lights and imagine that waitress outlined in the bed 
Her hair falling all around me 
I smile and shake my head 
Well we all write our own endings 
And we all have our own scars 
But tonight I think I see what it’s all about 

Because I’ve come home 
I’ve come home

www.songtextemania.com

to her site



3 Responses to “Homecoming”


  1. 7. August 2008 um 22:43

    you put a smile on my face!

  2. 7. August 2008 um 22:54

    : )

  3. 8. August 2008 um 01:16

    da schneewittchen nur pennend in der gegend rumliegt, blieb ja wohl für richard nur das rotkäppchen😉
    das buch ist echt klasse.

    ja, die waffen🙂 das sind schaukampfschwerter und keine dekowaffen für die wand🙂
    guckst du:
    http://wortman.wordpress.com/2008/04/03/wortman-knight/
    oder
    http://wortman.wordpress.com/2008/03/22/hau-mich-doch/

    die bösen räuber trinken bestimmt auf dem swingfest eine ordentliche runde weizenbier😉


Schreibe einen Kommentar

Follow me on Twitter

Die Welt der Smilies ist nicht nur gelb

Am Besten bewertet

Support Wikipedia

laizismus_button1

Blog Start 12.6.08

  • 130,164 Klicks

Archive

Creative Commons

Creative Commons License
N!RAk At.Ak von N!RAk steht unter einer Creative Commons Namensnennung-Keine kommerzielle Nutzung-Keine Bearbeitung 3.0 Österreich Lizenz.
Über diese Lizenz hinausgehende Erlaubnisse erhalten Sie möglicherweise unter https://nirakatak.wordpress.com/imressum/
Seitwert
Blogverzeichnis
My Ping in TotalPing.com
Clicky

Kalender

August 2008
M D M D F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Schließe dich 198 Followern an

TOP


